Public Inquiry into EQC

03 ShareYourViews

Hurunui Residents can now submit their experiences with EQC as part of a ‘Public Inquiry into the Earthquake Commission’ - an inquiry examining the role and work of EQC in the aftermath of recent natural disasters.

We, the Hurunui District Council and residents of the Hurunui, have been identified as having an interest in the work of the Public Inquiry into the Earthquake Commission. As a result, we have been provided with the means and communication to participate.

The Public Inquiry into the Earthquake Commission operates independently of government. It will be about experiences right across New Zealand, with a particular focus on Canterbury earthquakes.

Dame Silvia Cartwright is acting as Inquiry Chair and intends to report the inquiry’s findings to the Governor-General and the Government by the end of 2019.

From today, the inquiry will begin accepting written and online submissions. Online submissions can be made at and written submission forms can be collected from Waiau, Culverden, Cheviot, Hanmer Springs, Hawarden and Amberley libraries from Thursday (11/04/2019).  The written submission forms come with free postage for their return.

There will also be opportunities for people to share their experiences and views with the inquiry, including a series of public forums (info still to come) and meetings with Dame Silvia Cartwright, “I will consider any meeting requests on a case-by-case basis according to whether I think they can further assist the inquiry” she says.

In addition to meeting with submitters, Dame Silvia Cartwright is also meeting with experts and officials. “I am meeting with experts and organisations central to this Inquiry, as well as affected property owners and their advocates” she says.

“The importance of this Inquiry cannot be overstated. I hope you will help us make positive change for all New Zealanders”.

Online Submissions and More Information:

Meeting Requests: or phone 0508 INQ EQC (0508 467 372)

Paper Submissions: Waiau, Culverden, Cheviot, Hanmer Springs, Hawarden and Amberley libraries,