2019 Local Elections

The next local body elections will be held on Saturday 12 October 2019.

This will include elections for the Hurunui District Council, Hanmer Springs Community Board, Environment Canterbury, the Canterbury District Health Board and the Cheviot Licensing Trust.

Are you interested in representing your community? Nominations for all positions will open on Friday 19 July 2019 and close at noon on Friday 16 August 2019. 

The election will be held by postal vote and voting papers will be delivered from 20 September 2019.  Voting closes at noon on 12 October. 

More information will be posted on this page through 2019.

If you have any questions, please contact the Electoral Officer, Anthony Morton, by email to amorton@electionz.com or FREEPHONE 0800 EZ VOTE (0800 398 683)

New Ward Structure

As a result of our 2018 Representation Review , our elections this year will be the first for our new three-ward structure.

Map Option 2

Key dates for local authority elections 2019.

19 July 2019

Nominations open for candidates. Nominations have to be sent to the electoral officer for the council, district health board or licensing trust. Rolls open for inspection at council offices and other sites locally.

16 August 2019

Nominations close at 12 noon. Rolls close. After this date, anyone who is entitled to vote and who is not enrolled as an elector, or whose details are incorrectly recorded on the roll, will have to cast a ‘special vote’.

21 August 2019

Election date and candidates’ names publicised by electoral officers.

20-25 September 2019

Voting documents delivered to households. Electors can post the documents back to electoral officers as soon as they have voted.

12 October 2019

Voting Closes — The voting documents must be at the council before voting closes at 12 noon. Preliminary results (i.e. once all ‘ordinary’ votes are counted) will be available as soon as possible afterwards.

17-23 October 2019 (or as soon as practicable)

Official results (including all valid ordinary and special votes) declared.