Ward Representation

Wards and Councillors

The Hurunui District Council is currently made up of five wards. These are:

district  map

In total the Hurunui District Council has nine councillors elected from the five wards and a Mayor who is elected from the district as a whole.

The Hurunui District Council does not currently have separate Mäori wards.
The Council may resolve to create separate Mäori wards or conduct a poll on the matter, or the community may demand a poll - a petition signed by 5 per cent of electors within the district can initiate the demand for a poll.

Representation Review

The Local Electoral Act 2001 requires all local authorities to review their representation arrangements at least once every six years.
The process is called the Representation Review.